Association Board

Executive Board (Vorstand)

Prof. Dr. Jian-Jia Chen 陳建佳

Chair (Vorsitzender)

is Chair Professor of Design Automation for Embedded Systems of Faculty of Informatics (Computer Science) at TU Dortmund since April 2014. He started his European Journey in 2008 as a Postdoc at ETH Zurich, followed by Juniorprofessorship at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) in 2010. He received the ERC Consolidator Award in 2019. He was elected as the chair of the executive board with a vision to provide suitable means for Taiwanese scholars and researchers to sustainably integrate into European society.

Prof. Dr. Chih-Jen Shih 施智仁

Vice Chair (stellvertretende Vorsitzender)

is Professor of Chemical Engineering in Department of Chemistry and Applied Biosciences at ETH Zurich, Switzerland. He received bachelor and Ph.D degrees from National Taiwan University and Massachusetts Institute of Technology, respectively, before coming to Europe in 2015. He has received the Victor K. Lamer Award from the American Chemical Society, the Ruzicka Preis from the Swiss Chemical Society, and the ERC starting grant from the European Research Council.

Prof. Dr. Tsu-Wei Chen 陳祖威

General Officer (Generalsekretär)

is Professor of Intensive Plant Food Systems of Faculty of Life Science at Humboldt Universität zu Berlin since September 2020. He came to Europe in 2009 and worked in Hannover (Germany) and Montpellier (France). He received the DFG Emmy Noether Program in 2020.

Chia-Ju Yu 余佳茹

Finance Chair (Schatzmeister)

is working for the corporate strategy and marketing intelligence in the European semiconductor corporates, such as STMicroelectronics. She received her master’s degree in engineering from the National Taiwan University in 2006. She founded a deep tech startup in Germany and received MBA in ESMT Berlin in 2018.

Dr. Hsin-Fang Chang 張馨方

Board member (Vorstandmitglieder)

is Young Investigator at the Center for Integrative Physiology and Molecular Medicine (CIPMM), department of Cellular Neurophysiology at Saarland University (UdS), Germany. She received her Ph.D. degree (Summa cum laude) in 2017 from the medical faculty of Saarland university with Calogero Pagliarello-Studienspreis for her thesis. Afterward, she worked at Institute for Neuroimmunology and Multiple Sclerosis Research (IMSF) at University Medical Center Göttingen (UMG) for her postdoc. She obtained a tenure position in 2019 at UdS and is leading several scientific projects from her own grants.

Dr.-Ing. Kuan-Hsun Chen 陳冠旬

Board member (Vorstandmitglieder)

is a tenured assistant professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Twente, in the Netherlands since 2021. He was a Postdoc for the Faculty of Informatics at TU Dortmund University, in Germany. He earned his Ph.D. degree (Dr.-Ing.) with the highest distinction (Summa cum laude) with a dissertation award from TU Dortmund in 2019. His EU journey started in 2013 with Prof. Dr. Jian-Jia Chen from Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) in Germany.

Advisory Board (Beirat)

Dr. Yu-Wen Hsieh 謝郁文

Chair (Vorsitzender)

is a biotech/pharma consultant based in Berlin, Germany. He earned his Ph.D. in developmental biology, evolution biology, and biophysics in the Max Planck Institute of Cell Biology and Genetics (MPI-CBG) in Dresden, Germany from 2014-2019, and had years of postdoctoral fellow experience before he joined the consulting realm in 2021. He has been dedicated to the student community in Germany for more than 8 years and continues to work in bridging master/Ph.D. students into academy/industry careers.

Prof. Dr. Yian Tai 戴 龑

Vice Chair (stellvertretende Vorsitzender)

Blog at